Book Lovers · Book Reviews · Mental Health · Young Adult

Book Review: Lisa, Bright and Dark by John Neufeld


I enjoyed this one: mainly because I love learning more about mental illnesses and reading stories(whether fictional or not) about those who battle them. Lisa, Bright and Dark was a great story that outlined the vulnerability and rawness of what it means to have a mental disorder. It was pretty crazy how long it took the adults to come around in this story, but they eventually did. An insightful story that I think would do good in schools to educate young people about what some of their classmates, or even themselves, may go through emotionally, mentally, and socially because of their illness. If you enjoy books in the tradition of Go Ask Alice, CRANK by Ellen Hopkins, or Still Alice, I believe you would enjoy this read.

Featured image via The Odyssey Online

Advertisements

Share Your Thoughts!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s