Review: Their Silent Graves by Carla Kovach

Title: Their Silent Graves
Author: Carla Kovach
Series: Detective Gina Harte, #7
Published: September 2020, Bookouture
Format: ARC E-copy, 360 pages
Source: Netgalley via Publisher

Dressed in garish
Halloween costumes, two teenage girls run through a patch of dense
woodland towards the outskirts of town. But before they can reach the
safety of the streets beyond, they make a shocking discovery.

a piece of old rope, the girls find a large mound of freshly laid
earth, undisturbed in the darkness of the trees. Clawing at the ground
beneath them, they make contact with something solid. When they realise
what they’ve discovered, the silence is broken by their piercing screams
as they stare down at the shallow grave.

Without looking back, they run as fast as they can, failing to spot the person nearby watching their every move…

when another grave is found just days later, it’s clear a serial killer
is praying on the small town. But who is the killer watching now? And
when will another grave be filled?

If you like Angela Marsons,
Cara Hunter and Clare Mackintosh, you’ll love this heart-racing thriller
from bestselling author, Carla Kovach. With gripping suspense and a
twist you won’t see coming, Their Silent Graves will have you hooked
from page one.

My thoughts:  This
is the seventh book in the Detective Gina Harte series and I definitely think this
series gets better and better with each new installment! It’s so addicting and compelling…I
just love when I
find these crime fiction/police procedural series with a strong female

this book can definitely be read as a stand-alone – something
that I am finding most books in series can be done these days – I will
say that I highly recommend reading the previous books first. There is
quite a lot of backstory on the characters that I think is helpful in
really understanding the characters more fully and some threads that
deal with the character development are carried over from book to book.

This latest book really takes a toll on Detective Gina Harte and again, if you haven’t read the previous books, you might be at a disadvantage. Having said that, you really see how much her past still wreaks havoc on her, and despite her being such a strong person, some days it’s a tough battle. And it seems as if there is someone out there that is determined to not let what happened in the past go…someone is determined to settle some scores and is going to use Gina to do so.

I love that we see such a human side to Gina Harte in this book. We see her unsettled by what is happening here as much as she tries not to let it get to her. And even though she wants to trust Briggs, there is a part of her that has to question him and you can’t fault her – he is after all the only one that knows exactly what happened that long ago night, he is the only one she has told. 

This book is dark and creepy, the Halloween theme makes it the perfect book to pick up right now, but again, I caution you to please consider reading the earlier books first. It really does make for a much more richer reading experience.


Books in this series:

  1. The Next Girl
  2. Her Final Hour
  3. Her Pretty Bones 
  4. The Liar’s House
  5. Her Dark Heart 
  6. Her Last Mistake
  7. Their Silent Graves


Get Free Email Updates And Ebook!

Signup now and receive an email once I publish new content.

I agree to have my personal information transfered to AWeber ( more information )

I will never give away, trade or sell your email address. You can unsubscribe at any time.

Author: admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *